Textures!

We have been given a task of going out in groups and taking photos of 10 different textures and then putting them into Photoshop to create a working texture that has no visible seam in the middle of the image. I’m not sure if I’ve done it all correctly, although it all looks good to me. Obviously, I don’t expect it to be all perfect as it is my first attempt at it. I think I’ve done it using the right process which I will explain step by step just the way as I explained it to my peers.

– Open up a new Photoshop File with the dimensions of 256 pixels by 256 pixels
– Find your image and enlarge it to make it fit into the square
– Open up a new Photoshop File with the dimensions of 512 pixels by 512 pixels
– Copy the 256 by 256 image into the new file and use the Patch Tool in order to get rid off the seams, if there are any dark areas you do not wish to have in there, use the Healing Tool to remove it
– Open up a new Photoshop File with the dimensions of 1024 pixels by 1024 pixels
– Copy the 512 by 512 finished image into the new file and use the Patch Tool again (Healing Tool if needed)
This time go into Filters -> Offset -> and set both digits to +512 -> Ok/Apply
– Use the Patch Tool/Healing Tool again until you’re satisfied with the result
– Open up a new Photoshop File with the dimensions of 2048 pixels by 2048 pixels
– Copy the finished 1024 by 1024 image into the new file and it should all be done correctly. (If you see some seams or shadows that make it look like there is a seam, go back to the 1024 by 1024 and change it a bit and copy it again)

That is exactly what I’ve done and finished 10 different textures. I will show you the image I started with and the finished texture.

So yeah! That’s that then!

Leave a Reply

