Bridge: Pareidolia Photoshop Bridges

Today I was experimenting with a new pareidolia technique that I can use on Photoshop. First you have to choose 2 colours for a gradient, then choose the lasso tool and scribble in order to create ‘random’ shapes, and then use the Hue/Saturation settings to adjust the colour and the shading of the selected area.

bridge-1-practice-pareidolia

I wanted to try and use it for the Bridge project, at first I thought that I was being too controlled with it. As if I was just trying to make it look like a bridge even though it was supposed to be a pareidolia technique. I don’t think that this experiment has went well.

bridge-2-practice-pareidolia

On the second experiment I did go with full pareidolia, I didn’t control it at all and it made something that might look like a ship.

bridge-3-practice-pareidolia

The third time I have decided to control it a little bit but still let it do it’s own thing. In the end I ended up with this nicely stylised environment concept. Also managed to create a bridge of some sort between something that looks like 2 buildings which might be also seen as space stations.

bridge-4-practice-pareidolia

During the fourth experiment I decided to play about with the brush tool as well as using the pareidolia lasso tool technique. I was very happy with the results because it actually does look like what I intended it to look like, which is a log over a pit.

bridge-5-practice-pareidolia

My final experiment of the session was this concept for a snow-like environment which also includes a bridge. This is the piece that I was proud of the most! It looks very futuristic and stylised and I had so much fun creating this. The only thing that I don’t like about this design is that some lines don’t connect well together. A way to improve this design and few others would be to have a human figure to show the scale, and to show how big the whole environment/object actually is (Just like I did for the Services Vehicle Project)

 

Leave a Reply

