Lighting Rig

capture-15

Today I have created my own Lighting Rig. We’ve been discussing how to present our work to make it stand out and so that it has a bit of our personality in it. We took clean 3D models as an example. We first had a look at different models on the internet to spot which one pops up to us the most. Turns out that any model that has at least some sort of colour or has a creative like background is the one that is very easy to spot and makes the whole model much more interesting. Whilst creating my own lighting rig I did need a lot of help. I didn’t know how to set up the cameras and what to do exactly. So I wanted to re-create the light that I have used for my video project as that just seemed like the easiest way to go. As I was going through with it I liked what I ended up with. For presenting my future work I have decided to take an image of something that looks like a work station. I would then blur the image out and use Photoshop to create it as my background 3D template image which I could use for my further 3D models. Of course I would have to render out the image in a way that I could get rid of the background. So I have learned a way of doing so which is very straight forward.

Under the render settings I need to go and choose to show the material ID of the rendered image. That is how I remembered it but unfortunately I encountered a problem. whilst doing that. As soon as the render has finished I was shown the Material ID image and it was all blue. I was supposed to be able to get a background of some colour, and a shape of my render in a completely different colour. This would then make it easier for me to put it into Photoshop in order to select the shape I needed and get rid of the background. What I didn’t realise was the fact that I was supposed to change the Material Channels in the Material Editor window.

For example: All material channels are set to a default channel, a default channel has a set material ID colour. If you have 2 different materials which are on the same channel the Material ID feature will treat it as the same colour which will result in an image of for example full blue. Although once you change the channels you should get something that looks like this:

pistol-render-mask-4-fixed

Then you can place the full render into Photoshop, select the blue from this image, go onto the render image and delete the selected area. All you should be left with would be the 3D render with no background.

 

Leave a Reply

